GESISDeutsche VersionTable of Content^Level upPrevious PageNext PageSearch...SoSciLinksHelpIZ

Further Publications

Informations- und Wissensverarbeitung in den Sozialwissenschaften /
Information and Knowledge Processing in the Social Sciences
Contributions to the conversion of new information technologies

Edited by Heinrich Best, Brigitte Endres-Niggemeyer, Matthias Herfurth, H. Peter Ohly
Opladen: Westdeutscher Verlag 1994, 623 pages, pbk.
ISBN 3-531-12501-X
79,- DM (obtainable at the bookseller's)

Information science is of relevance to the social sciences from two aspects: first, information systems in the form of databases have for some time acted as data delivery systems for social research; second, information science develops problem-oriented knowledge-based techniques, based on topic areas; with these, instruments can be developed which can be of assistance in finding answers to scientific questions. With these techniques, conventional database structures, oriented towards single concepts and documents, can be extended. The IZ has fostered discussion in this area through the organisation of various conferences and through in-house fundamental research work.

The collection contains articles concerned, from an interdisciplinary point of view, with social science - information science - information itself. In individual essays, different formulations from various fields - artificial intelligence, image recognition, communication networks, hypertext, scientometrics, bibliometrics and so on, which are each presented with reference to their application to the social sciences. Thereby, this publication is, at the same time, an introductory overview and a standard work on a forward-looking theme.

Herausforderungen an die Informationswirtschaft /
Challenges for the Information Economy
Information compression, information valuation and data visualisation

Proceedings of the 5. International Symposium on Information Science (ISI '96), Humboldt University at Berlin, 17.-19. October 1996

Edited by Jürgen Krause, Matthias Herfurth and Jutta Marx
Konstanz: Universitätsverlag 1996 (Schriften zur Informationswissenschaft; Vol. 27), 424 pages, pbk.
ISBN 3-87940-585-7
ISSN 0938-8710
108,- DM (obtainable at the bookseller's)

The main theme "Challenges for the Information Economy" of the Symposium 1996 takes the current developments into account, which incorporate the knowledge which has been gained in the "classic" information services concerning services and products which meet market and consumer demands. The Conference proceedings include the 35 papers from this symposium, in which the emphasis lies, alongside the main theme, "information economy", in the fields "information filtering and retrieval", "information evaluation", "software ergonomy", "data visualisation" and " ethical and socio-cultural aspects of the new information technologies".


GESISDeutsche VersionTable of Content^Level upPrevious PageNext PageSearch...SoSciLinksHelpIZ


© GESIS IZ 1999-06-16

GESISinactiveInhaltsverzeichnis^Ebene höherZurückblätternVorblätternSuche...SoWi.LinksHilfeIZ

Weitere Veröffentlichungen

Informations- und Wissensverarbeitung in den Sozialwissenschaften
Beiträge zur Umsetzung neuer Informationstechnologien

Hrsg. v. Heinrich Best, Brigitte Endres-Niggemeyer,
Matthias Herfurth, H. Peter Ohly
Opladen: Westdeutscher Verlag 1994, 623 Seiten, kart.
ISBN 3-531-12501-X
79,- DM (zu beziehen über den Buchhandel)

Für die Sozialwissenschaften ist die Informationswissenschaft in zweifacher Hinsicht von Interesse: Zum einen dienen Informationssysteme in Form von Datenbanken seit einiger Zeit als Datenlieferanten für die Sozialforschung. Zum anderen entwickelt die Informationswissenschaft problemorientierte wissensbasierte Techniken, die auf Themenfelder bezogen sind. Damit werden Instrumente erarbeitet, die wissenschaftliche Fragestellungen beantworten helfen. Mit diesen Techniken kann u.a. über konventionelle, ausschließlich an einzelnen Begrifflichkeiten und Dokumenten orientierte Datenbankstrukturen hinausgegangen werden. Das IZ hat den Diskussionsstand auf diesem Gebiet durch die Organisation verschiedener Tagungen und eigene grundlegende Forschungsarbeiten unterstützt.

Der vorliegende Sammelband enthält Beiträge, die auf den interdisziplinären Themenkomplex Sozialwissenschaften - Informatik - Information zielen. Im einzelnen werden verschiedene Ansätze aus den Gebieten künstliche Intelligenz, Bilderkennung, Kommunikationsnetze, Hypertext, Szientometrie, Bibliometrie usw., jeweils mit Bezug auf die sozialwissenschaftliche Anwendung vorgestellt. Damit ist diese Veröffentlichung zugleich einführender Überblick und Standardwerk zu einem zukunftsweisenden Thema.

Herausforderungen an die Informationswirtschaft
Informationsverdichtung, Informationsbewertung und Datenvisualisierung

Proceedings des 5. Internationalen Symposiums für Informationswissenschaft (ISI '96), Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, 17.-19. Oktober 1996

Hrsg. v. Jürgen Krause, Matthias Herfurth und Jutta Marx
Konstanz: Universitätsverlag 1996 (Schriften zur Informationswissenschaft; Bd. 27), 424 Seiten, kart.
ISBN 3-87940-585-7; ISSN 0938-8710
108,- DM (zu beziehen über den Buchhandel)

Das Leitthema "Herausforderungen an die Informationswirtschaft" des Symposiums 1996 trägt der aktuellen Entwicklung Rechnung, die in der "klassischen" Informationswissenschaft gewonnenen Erkenntnisse in markt- und bedarfsgerechte Dienstleistungen und Produkte einzubringen. Der Tagungsband spiegelt in rund 35 Beiträgen diese Betrebungen wider, wobei die Schwerpunkte neben dem Bereich "Informationswirtschaft" auf den Gebieten "Information Filtering und Retrieval", "Informationsbewertung", "Softwareergonomie", "Datenvisualisierung" und " Ethische und soziokulturelle Aspekte neuer Informationstechnologien" liegen.

GESISinactiveInhaltsverzeichnis^Ebene höherZurückblätternVorblätternSuche...SoWi.LinksHilfeIZ

© GESIS IZ 23.07.1998