Call for Papers for the

ISI' 96

Fifth International Symposium for Information Science (ISI '96)

Berlin, October 17-19, 1996


HI  GSIS  IZ    Humboldt Uni Berlin

General topic: Challenges for the Information Science
Concentration, Evaluation and Filtering of Information

This years' focus stresses a continuing tendency of information science towards a stronger commitment to the needs of the market and of the users. The work of information scientists needs to be further professionalized and has to face the economic challenges for modern information systems. This will be a difficult task as it is shown by the revolutionary developments in Multimedia, Hypertext, visualization of user interfaces and value added services like the Internet. The new global online services are a challenge to the traditional information service structures. These new technologies will cause dramatic changes in our society. Search, filtering, concentration and evaluation are the central problems.
However, submissions are not limited to these issues.

Papers are also welcome on the following topics:
- basic research in information science
- social and cultural consequences
- points of view from of related disciplines like Artificial Intelligence, Computer Science, Communication design

Conference languages will be English and German.
Presentations should not exceed 30 minutes.

Important Dates

  • Deadline for submission of extended abstracts (max 4 pages, 4 copies)
  • March 15, 1996
  • Deadline for suggestions of tutorials, panels and posters
  • March 15, 1996
  • Notification of acceptance
  • April 30, 1996
  • Deadline for submission for papers for the best student award
  • June 15, 1996
  • Deadline for submission of camera-ready contributions
  • June 15, 1996

    This year's ISI is organized by the Social Science Information Center Bonn/Berlin (IZ), a member of the German Social Science Infrastructure Services (GESIS) , the Humboldt University Berlin, and the Academic Association for Information Science (HI).

    Scientific administration: Prof. Dr. Jürgen Krause
    Panel: Prof. Dr. Rainer Kuhlen
    Poster: Prof. Dr. Harald Zimmermann
    Best paper award: Prof. Dr. Wolf Rauch

    Prof. Dr. Jürgen Krause, IZ Bonn/Berlin (Chair)
    Prof. Dr. Raffael Capurro, FH Stuttgart
    Prof. Dr. Jiri Cejpek, Karls-Universität Prag
    Prof. Dr. Brigitte Endres-Niggemeyer, FH Hannover
    Prof. Dr. Norbert Fuhr, Universität Dortmund
    Dr. Ilse Harms, Universität Saarbrücken
    Dr. Josef Herget, Universität Konstanz
    Prof. Dr. Ralf-Dirk Hennings, FH Potsdam
    Mag. Harald Hiller, Universität Graz
    Prof. Dr. Norbert Henrichs, Universität Düsseldorf
    Prof. Dr. Gerhard Knorz, FH Darmstadt
    Prof. Dr. Helmut Krcmar, Universität Hohenheim
    Prof. Dr. Rainer Kuhlen, Universität Konstanz
    Prof. Dr. Achim Osswald, FH Köln
    Prof. Dr. Wolf Rauch, Universität Graz
    PD Dr. Ulrich Reimer, Swiss Life Zürich
    Prof. Dr. Thomas Seeger, FH Darmstadt
    Prof. Dr. Ralf Schmidt, FH Hamburg
    Andreas Schomburg, FH Darmstadt
    Prof. Dr. Eric Schoop, TU Dresden
    Prof. Dr. Wolfgang G. Stock, FH Köln
    Dr. Stephanie Teufel, Universität Zürich
    Dr. Ulrich Thiel, GMD IPSI, Darmstadt
    Prof. Dr. Walter Umstätter, Humboldt-Universität Berlin
    Prof. Dr. Gernot Wersig, Freie Universität Berlin
    Dr. Christa Womser-Hacker, Universität Regensburg
    Prof. Dr. Harald Zimmermann, Universität Saarbrücken

    Dipl.-Soz. Matthias Herfurth, IZ Bonn (Chair)
    Dorothee Adansi, IZ Bonn
    Ulrike Becker, IZ Berlin
    Prof. Dr. Robert Funk, Humboldt-Universität
    Jutta Marx, M.A., IZ Bonn
    Prof. Dr. Wolf Rauch, Universität Graz
    Dipl.-Soz. Erika Schwefel, IZ Berlin

    For further information and submissions:

    c/o InformationsZentrum Sozialwissenschaften
    Lennestr. 30
    D-53113 Bonn
    Tel.: (++49)228/2281-147
    Fax: (++49)228/2281-120

    Diese Seite auf deutsch...

    Back to ISI'96 homepage...

    This page is provided by the InformationsZentrum Sozialwissenschaften Bonn Please send correspondence to This page was last modified on February 7, 1996 by Maximilian Eibl